THE GIRL ON THE PHONE

A while ago I discovered by chance Rod Guen, an Artist whose works I now admire very much.

I especially like the way he portrays women: they are so natural in their movements, and in every drawing you have the feeling you can get some of the personality of his character.

Watching his drawings of women he portrayed in their private moments, I have the feeling he loved all of them.

I enjoyed so much his drawings I felt the urge to copy one, and here is the final result.  I like the way this girl raises her foot: she is telling us she is maybe a dancer, and that call phone is important to her, and not really pleasant.

I copied the girl on a piece of paper, then I scanned it and inked it in Adobe Illustrator. After that, I colored it in Adobe Photoshop.

For the curtain, I drew it in Illustrator, than exported it in Photoshop and played with the opacity, blur and transparency. It is my first attempt to color a curtain using this technique, but I like it.

You can see the original drawing on this link

Leave a Reply

